Celebrating 2021 Teachers of the Year

(June 8, 2021) The Rotary Club of Snow Hill held a virtual ceremony on June 8 celebrating the recipients of the 2021 Teacher of the Year honors at our area schools. The Teacher of the Year selection is conducted by the Maryland State Superintendent of Schools with school systems across the state.

Those honored at the Rotary ceremony were: Mia Byrd, Snow Hill Elementary School; Cara Kurtz, Snow Hill Middle School; Stacey Russell, Cedar Chapel Special School; Nicholas Traud, Snow Hill High School; and Aarti Sangwan, Worcester County Technical High School. Ms. Sangwan is also the 2021 Worcester County Teacher of the Year and will be considered for the Maryland Teacher of the Year honors to be announced in October.

Watch this video (5 minute) and get to know these amazing teachers who have served their students so well during a challenging year. Congratulations to you all.

The Rotary Club of Snow Hill supports education by awarding scholarships to Snow Hill area graduates, recognizing outstanding teachers, donating books to libraries, and sponsoring peer leadership training for high school students.

Watch the full (50 minute) 2021 Teacher of the Year ceremony to learn more about the honorees and Rotary Club activities.